Alone

Here is something I have been sitting on. Not great, but I like it.

 

July 01, 2011

It’s Canada Day and all the crowds are streaming by,
In two’s and three’s they pass, and here I sit alone.
The sounds of the crowd won’t let me forget,
That  they are all happy, and here I sit alone.
C. said he’d be with me, promised me he would come,
The fireworks were important, and here I sit alone.
Sure, I’m disappointed, but not at all surprised,
It’s not the first time, that here I sit alone.
I am surrounded by people, couples, families, kids,
But none take note of me, as here I sit alone.
They are enjoying their celebration, laughing with glee,
Happiness prevails around me, but here I sit alone.
I will enjoy the fireworks, bright colors lighting up the night,
Nostalgic for the firecracker I was, now here I sit alone.
Though I may weep, it is with a bitter-sweetness,
of what I lost when I began to sit alone.
As Always Thanks For Reading!                                         -S.
4 Comments to “Alone”

  1. what a great poem S, I hope that people no longer neglect you soon. Hope your back pain gets better!
    Jules

  2. I like this a lot! Of course there is a distinct possibility that I’m taking it and adapting it to my own feelings. This seems like it could have come right out of my own mind this past 4th of July. I like this for it’s honesty and thought.

  3. I’m glad you shared it. It’s beautifully done.

  4. Am I to read into this what I think I’m reading into it. If so – you poor wee lamb – I’m on the other end of the email if you need. Hugs, hugs and more hugs.

    Caroline
    xxx

Do you want to give me some encouragement, criticism or comments? Please do!! What did you think of this post?

